Update on Former Chiefs in Fall/Winter Leagues

All stats through Thursday, October 24. Australian Baseball League and Puerto Rico League have not yet started.


Jacob Wilson (2013) has appeared in five games so far for the 5-9 Salt River Rafters going 4-for-17 (.235) with three RBI.

Over on the Mesa Solar Sox, former Chiefs outfielder Jorge Soler (2012) is batting .282 (11-for-39) with three doubles and seven RBI. He has yet to draw a walk and has 10 strikeouts.  Wes Darvill (2012) has played in five games and is batting .250 (4-for-16) with a home run and four RBI.  Dallas Beeler (2011) is 2-0 in three starts with a 5.40 ERA and five strikeouts in 10 innings. Matt Loosen (2011) has pitched four times out of the bullpen going 0-0 with a 3.68 ERA and seven strikeouts in 7.1 innings.


The Aguilas Cibaenas feature two former Chiefs – Frank Batista (2010) and James Leverton (2010). Batista has pitched once and threw 1.1 innings with no runs, no hits and one strikeout. Leverton has also thrown one scoreless inning in his only appearance.

The Estrellas de Oriente have three former Chiefs. Nelson Perez (2009-10) who was released by the Cubs this year and played in the Mexican League, is 3-for-9 (.333) with a home run and two RBI. Pitcher Luis Liria (2010-12) has pitched twice as a reliever with a 16.20 ERA in 1.2 innings. Jose Pina (2007-09) is 0-1 as a starter with a 45.00 ERA allowing five runs on four hits and three walks in one inning.

Tigres del Licey feature two former Chiefs. Arismendy Alcantara (2011) is 3-for-18 (.167) in four games with a double and a walk. Pitcher Chris Narveson (2001-02) who is now a MLB Free Agent is 0-0 with an 8.10 ERA in one start with three earned runs and seven hits allowed over 3.1 innings.

Toros del Este also have two former Chiefs. Jeff Antigua (2009-12) has pitched twice with a 6.75 ERA allowing two runs on three hits over 2.2 innings. Adalberto Mendez (2005) has one start and a 9.00 ERA allowing two runs on three hits over two innings.


Bravos de Margarita –  Breyvic Valera (2013) is picking up where he left off in Peoria this year hitting .324 in 11 games (11-for-34) with four runs, a triple and four RBI. He also has two walks and a stolen base.  Silfredo Garcia (2013) is 0-0 with an 8.31 ERA in five relief outings with one save. He has four strikeouts and one walk in 4.1 innings. Frank Del Valle (2011) has pitched once with 1.2 shutout innings and two strikeouts.

Ildemaro Vargas (2013)is playing for Caribes de Anzoategui and is 0-for-7 in five games.  Vargas is joined by 2005 Chiefs pitcher Jon Hunton who is 1-0 with a 10.28 ERA in two outings in seven games. Hunton has a save and five strikeouts in 4.1 innings.

Yoanner Negrin (2011) is 2-0 with a 1.80 ERA in three starts for Leones del Caracas. He has 13 strikeouts in 15 innings of work.

Eliezer Alfonzo (2000) is 3-for-11 (.273) for Navegantes del Magallanes. He is joined by Erik Hamren (2009) who is 0-0 with 0.00 ERA in four games. Hamren has a save and one strikeout in 2.2 innings with just one hit allowed.

Eduardo Figueroa (2011) is on the Tiburones de La Guaira where he is 1-1 with a 27.00 ERA in two outings with four runs allowed in 1.1 innings. Alex Cabrera (1994) is batting .474 (18-for-38) with five doubles and 10 RBI in 10 games.

It has been seven years since Jesus Yepez wore the Chiefs jersey or played in a MiLB game and the current MLB free agent is 0-0 with a 0.00 ERA in six games for Aguilas del Zulia.


Jesse Estrada (2005-06) has pitched twice for Naranjeros de Hermosillo with 1.2 shutout innings and one hit allowed while striking out two.

Ryan Buchter (2009) is pitching for Tomateros de Culiacan and is 0-0 with a 3.00 ERA in four outings. He has one save and five strikeouts in three innings. Marcus Hatley (2009-11) is 0-1 with a 1.59 ERA in six outings. He has two saves and nine strikeouts over 5.2 innings.

Jay Jackson (2008) is pitching for Venados de Mazatlan. Jackson is 1-0 with three saves and a 0.00 ERA in five outings. He has struck out seven and walked two in six innings.


Brett Wallach (2010-11) who was released by the Cubs pre-season, signed with the Miami Marlins. Ryan Searle (2010) resigned with the Cubs.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: