Ex-Chiefs With Gold Glove Awards

Last Friday the three finalists at each position were named for the 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards. Two former Chiefs – Yadier Molina (C) and Darwin Barney (2B) are finalists in the National League. This year’s Gold Gloves will be awarded on Tuesday night (10/29) on ESPN2 at 7:00 p.m. Here’s hoping Molina & Barney add to the collection of 43 Gold Gloves won by ex-Chiefs players.

GG  Player  Pos  Years Won
18 Greg Maddux P 1990-2002 & 2004-08
7 Devon White OF 1988-89 & 1991-95
5 Yadier Molina C 2008-12
4 Mark Grace 1B 1992-93 & 1995-96
3 Rafael Palmeiro 1B 1997-99
3 Placido Polanco 2B/3B 2007, 2009 & 2011
2 Albert Pujols 1B 2006 & 2010
1 Darwin Barney 2B 2012
  • Note: Polanco is 1 of 2 players (Darin Erstad) to win a Gold Glove at multiple positions
  • Molina’s current run of 5 straight is the most in the NL since Johnny Bench won 8 in a row from 1968-1977. The overall catcher record for consecutive wins is 10 set by Ivan Rodriguez from 1992-2001
  • No player has ever won more Gold Gloves than Maddux at 18
  • Since 1988 at least one Gold Glove has been won by an ex-Chiefs player in every season except for 2003 when Mike Hampton beat out Maddux
  • The most different ex-Chiefs to in a season is 3 done 3 times: 1992, 1993 & 1995 (Maddux/White/Grace)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: